Baghlan Province of Afghanistan

Baghlan is one of provinces of Afghanistan. It is in the north of the country. Its capital is Puli Khumri, but its name comes from the other major town in the province, Baghlan.

The name Baghlan is derived from Bagolango or "image-temple", inscribed on the temple of Surkh Kotal during the reign of the Kushan emperor, Kanishka in the early 2nd century CE.
The Chinese Buddhist monk Xuanzang traveled through Baghlan in the mid-7th Century CE, and referred to it as the "kingdom of Fo-kia-lang".
As a province, Baghlan was created out of the former Qataghan Province in 1964.

Tajiks are the majority and make up 55% of the population, followed by 20% Pashtuns, 15% Hazaras, 9% Uzbeks, and the remainder is Tatar. In another source Tajiks along their sub-groups like Aimaks and Sayyid-Tajiks make more than 70% of the provincial population. In addition, a significant number of Hazaras are also counted as part of the Persianspeaking people which stating Persian language as overwhelming speaking language, followed by Pashhtuspeaking Pashtuns, Chatagaispeaking Uzbeks and some Tatars.
Baghlan is also home to a small community of Ismaili Muslims, led by the Sayeds of Kayan.

Baghlan's primary crops (as of 1974) were cotton and sugar beets, industrial sugar production having begun under Czech supervision in the 1940s. The area also produced grapes, pistachios, and pomegranates. The primary livestock are Karakul sheep.
The province also produces silk, and coal is mined in the Karkar Valley.

Districts of Baghlan Province;
Baghlani Jadid    
Dih Salah    
Farang Wa Gharu  
Guzargahi Nur   
Khost Wa Fereng  
Khwaja Hijran   
Puli Hisar 
Puli Khumri     
Tala wa Barfak

Total- 21,112 km2 (8,151.4 sq mi)

Dari Persian

 779,000 (2006)

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Blog Visitors